Barristers’ Ball 2014

modcloth tutu, sequin peplum, cape, barristers ball outfit, jessica simpson nude pumps, formal event updo modcloth tutu, sequin peplum, cape, barristers ball outfit, jessica simpson nude pumps, formal event updo modcloth tutu, sequin peplum, cape, barristers ball outfit, jessica simpson nude pumps, formal event updo modcloth tutu, sequin peplum, cape, barristers ball outfit, jessica simpson nude pumps, formal event updo modcloth tutu, sequin peplum, cape, barristers ball outfit, jessica simpson nude pumps, formal event updo modcloth tutu, sequin peplum, cape, barristers ball outfit, jessica simpson nude pumps, formal event updo

I did this to my hair all by myself! I have no idea if I could recreate it. But I curled my hair, then made 2 ponytails, then used  A LOT of bobby pins to pin little chunks randomly. I put the pins a couple inches from the bottom so curly bits would hang out everywhere. Kinda cute? Or total mess?

modcloth tutu, sequin peplum, cape, barristers ball outfit, jessica simpson nude pumps, formal event updo

Man, I love Oscars weekend. Naturally, I was dressed to the nines and posed for a lot of pictures.

Oh, not for the Oscars though. This was Saturday…for Barristers’ Ball. On the night of the Oscars, I wore a sweatshirt and fuzzy socks and sat on my couch. That’s how I roll.

Anyway, Barristers’ Ball. It’s prom night but in law school. Really, it’s more like a wedding reception, but the majority of the guests are incredibly stressed and badly in need of a night out. We’re also badly in need of an excuse to wear something fancy. Last year I wore a dress to Barristers’ Ball – which I wore again for NYE – but this year I went with a skirt and top in the hopes I would be able to re-wear them both separately multiple times.

The top, necklace, and skirt all came from ModCloth, which made for a kind of cute and quirky, quasi-retro vibe. You know, something Zooey Deschanel would wear. Maybe not to the Oscars, but definitely for spinning around and general frolicking.

Except for the crappy DJ who seemed to think every song could be improved by being shortened to a minute and a half and covered up by his own inane commentary, the night was fun. If you didn’t see them already, there are a few more photos on Instagram!

Have a good week, everyone. May you wear sequins and tulle every day (even if only on the inside).

Skirt // Top (on sale) // Necklace // Shoes (on sale) // Cape (on sale) // similar Earrings // similar Bag // Lips “Crush”

15 thoughts on “Barristers’ Ball 2014

  1. Love the whole outfit! I can’t believe you did the hair yourself – it’s so gorgeous! (I would never have the coordination to make the back of my head look so nice!)

Leave a comment