Snotty-Nosed Chic

anthropologie burgundy rancher hat, phillip lim for target bag, faux fur scarf, sole society boots anthropologie burgundy rancher hat, phillip lim for target bag, faux fur scarf, sole society boots anthropologie burgundy rancher hat, phillip lim for target bag, faux fur scarf, sole society boots

I’m pretty impressed with myself for putting together a look that doesn’t involve 2-3 patterns or unexpected color combos. Not that those things are bad, but I have to admit I tend to ignore the whole “minimalism” thing most of the time. It’s refreshing – in moderation, of course. The rest of the time I will probably be drawn to whatever the prettiest and most colorful prints are. And yes, that includes when I’m shopping for things other than clothes. I had to stock up on tissues recently because I’ve gone through our whole stash over the last month. First I had a cold, then I got over the cold, but it’s still winter, so my nose runs every time I go outside, then I come inside and eat some soup to warm up, and that makes my nose run all over again. It’s a vicious cycle.

anthropologie burgundy rancher hat, phillip lim for target bag, faux fur scarf, sole society boots anthropologie burgundy rancher hat, phillip lim for target bag, faux fur scarf, sole society boots anthropologie burgundy rancher hat, phillip lim for target bag, faux fur scarf, sole society boots

Anyway, being the responsible consumer that I am, I always pick out tissues based on whatever the cutest box is with absolutely no regard for quality or value. Kleenex has definitely upped its game recently in the cute packaging department (and luckily their tissues don’t feel like sandpaper and are mostly pretty reasonably priced), so I snagged these adorable little travel packs. Wait, does this mean my outfit isn’t minimalist anymore? Whatever. I’m calling it “snotty-nosed chic.”

I should probably pick up some boxes of tissue for around the house too…I’m still on the lookout for more of these adorable prints, which I didn’t spot at my Super Target. If anyone else sees them, let me know! The next step will be making a dress out of all the leftover boxes. And speaking of dresses, this “Catwalk or Kleenex” video is pretty entertaining. And if you want to waste even more time at work today, you can play the Catwalk or Kleenex quiz game (click on the purple square at the top) and be entered in the sweepstakes. Once you’re done with that, if you’re still bored, you’ll just have to look up cat videos on YouTube. In fact, go ahead and send me links to cat videos along with where to find more cute tissues. Thanks.

similar Hat // similar Scarf (on sale) // similar Boots (on sale) // Jeans // similar Bag (on sale) // Watch* (on sale) // Bracelet // Lips “Crush” // Tissues*

*Watch provided courtesy of Timex; tissues and other compensation for this post provided by Kleenex.

14 thoughts on “Snotty-Nosed Chic

  1. The minimalist look really works for you! That scarf is seriously the most beautiful accessory ever. Hope your nose feels better 🙂

    -AJ
    OccasionallyAJ.com

  2. I love the whole outfit. I’ m always tempted by cute printed tissue boxes too, but then I remember that that’s what tissue box covers are for. So you can buy the plain box of Kleenex at the cheaper price. Which also make me wonder if some Etsy seller has started making fabric tissue pack wallets yet…so you can just load it with tissues from the box.

Leave a comment