Blogger Problems

j crew majesty peacoat, ann taylor jeans, sole society colorblock flats, bow shirt, solo sunglasses, winter outfit, cold weather style j crew majesty peacoat, ann taylor jeans, sole society colorblock flats, bow shirt, solo sunglasses, winter outfit, cold weather style, ysl corail lipstick j crew majesty peacoat, ann taylor jeans, sole society colorblock flats, bow shirt, solo sunglasses, winter outfit, cold weather style, ysl corail lipstick j crew majesty peacoat, ann taylor jeans, sole society colorblock flats, bow shirt, solo sunglasses, winter outfit, cold weather style, ysl corail lipstick j crew majesty peacoat, ann taylor jeans, sole society colorblock flats, bow shirt, solo sunglasses, winter outfit, cold weather style, ysl corail lipstick j crew majesty peacoat, ann taylor jeans, sole society colorblock flats, bow shirt, solo sunglasses, winter outfit, cold weather style, ysl corail lipstick

I really wanted to do some photos of this outfit without my coat because my little lace bomber is really cute, but I literally could not compel myself to take any layers off because it was SO. COLD. I’m talking wind chill of 6 degrees. It’s a good thing I’m wearing sunglasses, otherwise you would see the pure misery in my eyes.

This whole outfit blogging thing can get pretty shitty in the winter. Sometimes I want to just skip it and recreate the outfit when it’s warmer, but since I’m trying to do this whole “real life” thing, I try my best to take photos of what I’m wearing when I actually wore it. Maybe the rest of you wouldn’t know the difference, but to me it just feels more authentic, and that’s my raison d’etre!

And while I’m complaining about how HARD it is to be a style blogger (oh no! I get free clothes and people compliment me every day!), I just HAVE to tell you the story of why we ended up taking these photos on top of a parking garage:

Kristin and I had a lunch date, and then we went across the street to this office park where we’ve taken photos several times before. On the weekend, the parking lot is totally empty, and there’s a cool building that makes a good background. So we got out of the car and Kristin started taking pictures, and then we noticed this car was crawling toward me. Let me remind you: we are in a totally empty parking lot. There are about a million paths a car could take, but this one chose to drive directly in my path. So I moved out of the way, waiting for it to pass. It drove behind me, stopped, and the driver rolled down the window and asked “Is everything OK?” (Because what do normal people do in an emergency? They go to a remote area and take pictures of themselves for posterity.) The car had something written on it, so I guess it was security or something. I said “yep” and then it kept moving 10 ft or so and stopped again. Didn’t say anything, didn’t tell us to leave, didn’t ask what we were doing. Just stalked us in the most conspicuous way possible. I tried staring into the back window in the hopes that I could telepathically say “I’m OBVIOUSLY  taking outfit photos and you’re harshing my vibe.” But it didn’t work. So we left. And I looked in my rear view mirror and sure enough, the creeper car was back on the move. It was like we were in a police chase. Except they were turtle police. Anyway, the point is: #bloggerproblems.

Coat (30% off w/ code GIFTNOW) // similar Shirt (on sale) // another similar Shirt // similar Jacket (on sale) // similar Shoes // Bag (on sale) // Sunglasses* // Lips “Corail in Touch”

*Sunglasses provided courtesy of Solo Eyewear. Check this post for more info and discount code.

16 thoughts on “Blogger Problems

  1. What a weirdo. Can’t a girl take photos in peace?

    Also….YOUR COAT IS AMAZING. That’s it, I need a new coat. I keep trying to pass off thick blazers as coats but nope. You’ve convinced me. We may not have a wind chill of 6 degrees in Texas (yikes) but I need some cute wool draped over my shoulders. Great outfit!

  2. Love Love your blog …..your email is in the first one I read every day! Please don’t let winter stop you! Deanna from Calgary Alberta Canada

  3. First, that car story is creepy!!

    Secondly, I totally feel you on taking pictures outdoors right now. My blog has become a boring backdrop of part of my office at work because I just can’t deal with taking photos outside right now!

  4. Winter would be a style blog problem. I envision you would find a nice old hotel lobby with a snow window backdrop or the library, shopping places! Like people would think you two were famous taking a photo shoot on! Enjoy your posts even with winter!

Leave a comment