Back to Unbasics

20121130-110739.jpg

20121130-110748.jpg

20121130-110757.jpg

20121130-110808.jpg

(caught mid-adjustment, but it’s a good shot of the boots!)

20121130-110818.jpg

20121130-110827.jpg

You know how people say that a great wardrobe has to have certain basic items that you can wear over and over again? Maybe I’m making this up, but I feel like I read it all the time. For example, year after year, fashion magazines and style gurus are going to tell you that every woman needs a classic trench coat, a cashmere sweater, black pumps, etc.

Well, at a certain point, if you have all the basics, there’s no point in buying more basics until you need to replace those basics. I’m at that point. So recently, any new purchases I’ve made have mostly been “special” or unique things that aren’t like anything else I already have. No one’s ever going to tell you that every girl must have a black shirt with a pink pleated center panel and studded shoulders. At least I hope no one ever does, because then I won’t feel quite so cool in mine.

Coat: J. Crew (on sale!)

Scarf: Target, old

Top: Forever 21 (“Studded Pleated Center Top”)

Jeans: Madewell

Boots: DV Dolce Vita (samesimilar with heel)

Bracelet: Forever 21

Earrings: Kate Spade

13 thoughts on “Back to Unbasics

  1. I do love the top! Your shoes are that “you” factor. Taking something classic but getting it in an unexpected print or fabric to make it fun is what makes fashion so great! Otherwise we’d all wear very boring and utilitarian clothing.

  2. I really love the uniqueness of the top, and love the print on the boots. Great contrast of textures.

    Keep an eye out on my blog later today. I’ll be featuring this as one of the looks I love today.

    xo,
    Terry

    terrys-two-cents.blogspot.com

  3. Pingback: Winter What to Wear Update No. 1 « Sarah's Real Life

Leave a comment